Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Off-road stadium truck > convert to on-road

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 11:59 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Off-road stadium truck > convert to on-road

After being away from RC for almost 20 years, I'm finally getting back into the hobby. I'm not in it for the competition or anything - just that I now have 2 kids and I'm looking for a new area for us to connect on.

As part of my new endeavor, I'm looking to dive into something I've always wanted to do - convert my offroad truck into an on-road car. I'm not looking to race it, so there's no need to swap gearboxes, etc in order to achieve 80mph or anything. I have no experience with road cars - but I'm willing to learn.

Here's the specifics - I have a 1/10 scale JRX-T Pro truck and I want to put a 1960s Mustang body on it along with the necessary road wheels and tires on it. I just want to be able to put a car body, tires, and whatever else is needed on it so it looks like 100% road car (not just a road car body on a truck chassis).

My question is - has anyone done anything similar to this?
  • Do you have any tips, suggestions, etc? I'm sure new body mounts will have to be bought or made.....
  • Where did you have issues/troubles with your conversion? How did you overcome it?
  • How do you know what size of body to use (190mm, 200mm, etc)?
  • Is it necessary to change the shock towers?
  • What else do I need to know?

While my RC skill and prowess may be outdated - my tinkering, fabrication, and engineering skills are well above par. Any thoughts and insight would be great!

Thanks!
Old 05-13-2010, 12:55 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I understand where you are coming from but the cost and time it would take far exceed buying a used road chassis and swap out the electrics.

The truck's wheelbase and track are too big for a 200mm sedan body.