Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Beginner to Rc

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 10:29 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Beginner to Rc

Hello folks I am a beginner to Rc and I am looking to but either a 1/8 scale car or 1/10 scale car. How would you go about choosing a car in terms of brand, durability etc. There are a lot of car manufacturers and I am having trouble choosing a manufacturer. At my club most people race mugen but one of the guys told me about the serpent 733. I would appreciate any suggestions on picking a manufacturer.
Old 05-09-2010, 11:02 PM
Tech Fanatic

Anything from Mugen, Serpent, Kyosho and Xray should deliver outstanding performance and quality, but these are rather complex vehicles for a newcomer. If this is really your first RC car, I would suggest getting something that's electric powered, and easier to build and handle than a full-blown race car. Perhaps a ready-to-run would be a good first choice, and if you develop a desire to get involved at a higher level, only then should you consider this type of vehicle. Staring with one of these is a bit like slamming your finger in the door.
Old 05-10-2010, 05:47 AM
Tech Initiate

Thanks for the reply SteveP. It is not my first Rc car, I have an electric car already and but I am looking to buy a Nitro car because no one races the electric cars at my club anymore. So I am not totally new, just tryaing to get information on what would be a good buy. Thanks for your information but does any of the manufacturers that you listed stand out above the other. I have read about the Mugen and trying to read about the Serpent. At my track the guys use alot of Mugens but I noticed that they seem to pop a lot of belts is that a fault of the manufactrer. One of the guys at my track told me the Serpent is a great car with a better design and from looking at it it seems that it is easy to fix compared to the Mugen parts easy accessible. What are your opinons.
Old 05-10-2010, 05:58 AM
Tech Adept