Community
Wiki Posts
Search

belt driven vs shaft driven

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 01:22 PM
Tech Initiate

Questions?? belt driven vs shaft driven

I have no experience with on-road cars, but I am hoping that will change shortly. In order to get myself started....

What are the pro/cons about shaft drives and belt driven cars besides personal preference?
Old 05-01-2010, 01:36 PM
Tech Rookie

Belt driven gives you less friction, better rollin and is more stable. But it is more problematic with dirt. So for the parking lot the shaft drive is definitive preferable. For competition choose belt drive.
Old 05-01-2010, 01:46 PM
Tech Master

Shaft drives are usually more efficient. But many people say they have torque steer. But because of the power transfer, they might not be the best option for high powered motors.

But I have really enjoyed they ones I have.
Old 05-01-2010, 01:56 PM
Tech Initiate

understood...As much as I would love a high end model, I've learned it will pay off starting with an entry level (in this case shaft driven) to get that important practice and build confidence before running with the big dogs.
Thanks for the info, much appreciated!!!
Old 05-01-2010, 02:04 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default +1 Tamiyarcracer

Shaft is definitely more efficient. Belt is smoother and a bit easier to drive, especially with high powered motors. Shaft is pretty buletproof. A TC3 is a great starting point. Simple, rugged, very tunable, lots of parts still around, About $75 for a good used roller.
Old 05-01-2010, 02:12 PM
Tech Initiate

If the shaft drives are more efficient at power transfer I would have to assume they are quicker? Speed is not my concern at this point, but later on it will be.

I also see a benefit of belt drives is they are easier to drive and smoother. Wouldn't that be a plus for somebody like myself that is going to be new to on-road. I know the choice is ultimately up to me, just trying to see it from both sides.