Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/Novak Ballistic 17.5 gearing,timing, Help? >

Tekin RS/Novak Ballistic 17.5 gearing,timing, Help?

Tekin RS/Novak Ballistic 17.5 gearing,timing, Help?

Old 03-20-2010, 07:01 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Tekin RS/Novak Ballistic 17.5 gearing,timing, Help?

Im new to the tc racing and I am looking for some good esc,gearing set-ups for my tf-5, heres what im running now.
Motor:Ballistic 17.5 with 15 degrees timing
CAR:Kyosho tf-5 stallion
100 tooth spur
26 tooth pinion
internal is 1.8
final drive is 6.93
rollout is1.113
ESC:Tekin rs
version 203
sensored mode
Drag:20
Reverseff
Brake:100
Neutral:10
Motor:1
Throttle:3
Voltageff
Pushff
Timing boost:50
Turbo boost:10
Delay:.2
Turbo ramp:3.0
Start rpm:2903
Ending rpm:13000

Any help that someone could give me as far as the setup for a small asphalt track that is similar to norcal rc would be greatly appreciated
Old 03-20-2010, 07:09 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by 64buick
Im new to the tc racing and I am looking for some good esc,gearing set-ups for my tf-5, heres what im running now.
Motor:Ballistic 17.5 with 15 degrees timing
CAR:Kyosho tf-5 stallion
100 tooth spur
26 tooth pinion
internal is 1.8
final drive is 6.93
rollout is1.113
ESC:Tekin rs
version 203
sensored mode
Drag:20
Reverseff
Brake:100
Neutral:10
Motor:1
Throttle:3
Voltageff
Pushff
Timing boost:50
Turbo boost:10
Delay:.2
Turbo ramp:3.0
Start rpm:2903
Ending rpm:13000

Any help that someone could give me as far as the setup for a small asphalt track that is similar to norcal rc would be greatly appreciated
Your setup is good just change the FDR to 6:00 and check motor temp then go lower...
Old 03-20-2010, 07:15 PM
Tech Initiate

Thanks for the quick response, im just a little nervous because I blew smoke on a novak velociti 17.5, shattered the rotor to pieces.

So im thinking 30 tooth pinion versus the 26, giving me a final drive of 5.99.
Old 03-21-2010, 07:26 AM