Need some advice.. New comer here!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need some advice.. New comer here!

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2009, 05:08 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Need some advice.. New comer here!

Hey guys,

I am brand new to the sport of RC racing, I don't even have a car yet. A friend of mine flies planes and I went with him the other day, saw the Touring cars on the track and I am addicted.

My question is this, everyone at the local track races the TC3 and TC4.

Why? Are they the best or just the most popular?

I have searched the net and saw the Schumacher cars..they look awesome, but are they worth the $$?

I also don't want to buy a "new" car cause then to be competitive, I would have to install upgrades..

What advice can you guys give me on car types, radios, servos, motors, etc...

Any help is appreciated! Thank you in advance

Nation
Old 12-14-2009, 05:18 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)

If most of the local guys are running TC3s and TC4s then that would be the best to start with. If you need set up help, it's there. If you break something, chances are you will find it at the track if there is not a shop on site.
Chech out ebay or the "For Sale" thread here to find a good deal on a decent used one. Try to find one with extras like tires/wheels, body and spares included. It's cheaper to get a used car with parts then to have to buy them new from the hobby shop. That way you don't have tons of money invested if you change your mind.
Old 12-14-2009, 05:21 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Put a post in the Want To Buy section. I am sure someone will have what you need. I would go with what everyone at the track runs. They should be able to help you with setup and other questions you have
Old 12-14-2009, 09:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Ask around at the track too and see if anybody is selling a car. It's always nice to buy local.
Old 12-15-2009, 02:06 AM
Tech Champion

Not equipment related, but mind related...