Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
How long did it take you to learn how to tune a nitro truck right? >

How long did it take you to learn how to tune a nitro truck right?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How long did it take you to learn how to tune a nitro truck right?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 07:24 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default How long did it take you to learn how to tune a nitro truck right?

What are some tips you could give a rookie?

Thanks
Old 11-26-2009, 07:30 AM
Tech Adept

still learning after 2 years. just take your time and make only small increments at a time, 1 hour increments.
Old 11-26-2009, 08:01 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

i don't play often and its been a year since i got into mine and I'm still learning, although I'm better now than I used to be
Old 11-26-2009, 08:30 AM
Tech Adept

I consider myself not a rookie at tuning. But I just lost a motor at the end of break in. So maybe not.
Old 11-26-2009, 09:10 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I have been racing for a couple years, and have gotten much better at it, but still no expert. It seems I can tune others cars much better than tuning my own!? go figure! I think it is because I can listen to their car easier, on the track.

All I can say is keep trying, reading, asking, and watching some of the pros. This past weekend, Adam Drake gave a friend a hand, and I was CLOSELY watching him. It took Adam about 1 minute, a couple few turns of the screws on the bench, and it was DONE! After chasing a tune all day, my friends truggy had tons of power, and came off the track at 230 after a 30 minute main! Makes me SICK!

After tuning it, Adam let him know what he had wrong, which was awsome knowledge!

Dont give up. Its an art form I think!
Old 11-26-2009, 12:27 PM
Tech Initiate