Search

Help with school project

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2009, 01:34 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Help with school project

Hey,
I am a mechanical engineering student and we have a class project to build and design an electric rc car. We have to use solidworks to design the car and then use our cnc machine to create the parts. We then race them. My question is, is it better to have a belt driven car, or a car that uses a bunch of reduction gears. I am a nitro off roader so i dont know much about the set up of an electric on road car. The motor we have to use isn't very power full and it runs at a constant speed of 2300 rpms. I have to reduce this a bit in order to get the tires to actually grip the ground. We also have to use an electric clutch to engage the motor, the motor will only power the rear wheels, so i was thinking it might be easier to use a series of belts versus having to worry about gear mesh on a bunch of gears. any advice you guys could give me would be great. thank you for your time.
Old 10-03-2009, 05:30 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)

2300 is not enough. My 10.5 turn will do 30000 rpm easy. A slow 21.5 turn can do 15000-20000 rpm. You should go to a onroad race and speck to the drivers. With Electric there is no real transmission. Gearing comes from the diffs and spur and pinion gear. Some cars to look at would be the TC5R and Xray T2 009, and TC4.
Old 10-03-2009, 06:47 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

I know 2300rpms is nothing but its what the school is supplying, I dont want to spend money on buying a new motor if i can get one for free and i know everyone else will be running this motor. do you think that with an engine that is this weak i might be able to connected it directly to the rear driveshaft with a belt system?
Old 10-03-2009, 06:51 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

sounds like you might want to do a car liek this http://www.redrc.net/wp-content/uplo...cgenx235-2.jpg