Wiki Posts
Search

Speed Merchant REV 3 Info

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2003, 11:28 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default Speed Merchant REV 3 Info

Hi guys.I have purchased a couple of these cars for some Indoor Carpet racing.
Very Smooth Carpet track on top of pavement.
Any Setup help or a clue on gearing would be appreciated.
Looks like a killer car.
Anyone with experience with this car Please Help.lol
I have raced outdoor 1/12th scale with a 12L3 and have never ran on carpet.I have some experience in driving alot of offroad and some onroad but ONLY on pavement.
Any tips or help with this car or 1/12th scale period would be appreciated.
Old 12-15-2003, 05:26 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Speed Merchant REV 3 Info

Originally posted by TexRacer
Hi guys.I have purchased a couple of these cars for some Indoor Carpet racing.
Very Smooth Carpet track on top of pavement.
Any Setup help or a clue on gearing would be appreciated.
Looks like a killer car.
Anyone with experience with this car Please Help.lol
I have raced outdoor 1/12th scale with a 12L3 and have never ran on carpet.I have some experience in driving alot of offroad and some onroad but ONLY on pavement.
Any tips or help with this car or 1/12th scale period would be appreciated.
TexRacer: Here's what I generqlly start with:

Rear: Blue side springs (no pre-load), Med. Losi Hydra drive fluid in the tubes, 80 wt. oil and Speedmerchant Black spring on the shock, .5 mm rear pod droop (sag) when off the bench, lower pod plate parallel with chassis at ride height.

Front-end: "Old Skool" (non-dynamic strut) front-end. .020 springs, one 2 degree AE caster shim under the arm. toe set straight.

Tires: Purple fronts, Grey Rears.

Gearing is Track Size/Motor Dependent, give me a bit more info and I'll try to give you a starting point.

Ian Ruggles
Old 12-15-2003, 06:36 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

what about tire sizes there jerkie? what do you start with?