Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Associated B4

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2008, 02:18 PM
Tech Adept

Default Associated B4

I've heard that the Associated B4 won't handle a hotter motor than a 9.5T brushless without recking the diff, is this true?

Also, my LHS has the factory team and race spec edition in stock, worth buying over the stock? Being £40 more expensive for the Factory team and £50 more for the race spec.

Please answer if you can as i have NO experience of off road buggys

Thanks!
Old 11-20-2008, 02:29 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

If you are talking about the rc10b4 RS, then that is a RTR. The FT car is worth the money if you are going to put your own stuff in it.

As for the motor, you can put a lot of power through the tranny if things are put together right (diff isn't slipping, things aren't over tightend, ect). I run a 8.5 in my truck right now (the T4 and B4 use the same tranny), and I had a mamba max 7700 set-up in it for a short time (it was really hard to drive then lol), but I never had an issue with the tranny or diff failing. Also there are guys that run 5.5's in their trucks (some guys do that on in-door caly tracks in the US) and they never had an issues that I know of. So yes the B4/T4 can with stand a high powered motor without issues.
Old 11-20-2008, 02:43 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by carbon madness
If you are talking about the rc10b4 RS, then that is a RTR. The FT car is worth the money if you are going to put your own stuff in it.