Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Is this normal behaviour for a Mamba Max? + some BL terms Qs >

Is this normal behaviour for a Mamba Max? + some BL terms Qs

Is this normal behaviour for a Mamba Max? + some BL terms Qs

Old 08-13-2008, 11:46 AM
Tech Regular

Default Is this normal behaviour for a Mamba Max? + some BL terms Qs

Hi,

I’ve finally received my Mamba Max 5700 combo a couple days ago, and installed it in my B4. So I’m very new to the brushless world, but so far it’s just amazing! I’m loving the top speed and acceleration.

The problem is, I’m not really familiar with some of the terminology that is associated with brushless motors/ESCs, namely:

-Cogging - This is the easiest one, and I’ve already figured it out before the Mamba got here. Since it’s a sensorless system, the ESC doesn’t know where the rotor is when the vehicle is not moving, so it has to guess and it ends up sort of stuttering, or “cogging” at initial start up, especially when you apply very little throttle. At higher speeds (anything past 1 km/hr, really), this doesn’t occur of course.
-Thermalling - Ok, I can guess that this basically means the ESC overheats and to prevent damage to itself, it shuts down. But how exactly does it shut down? I want to know the specific details so I can recognize it if this happens.
-Lipo Cut Off - Again, I know what it’s for, but I don’t know how exactly it works. When your lipo gets to the specified low voltage, how exactly does it “cut off”? Does it simply lower the power output so that the lipo doesn’t sink past the cut off point, or does it completely shut down and not respond to throttle commands anymore?