Wiki Posts
Search

Please help newbie - XXX-CR

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2008, 02:55 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Please help newbie - XXX-CR

Hi, I am assembling my new XXX-CR.
I am a newbie, and am having problems installing the front tierods.
I understand the measurements and the angle of installation, but my problem is that even if you the cushion "thingy" in, the cup does not clip onto the ball.

please help....

marlon
Old 08-01-2008, 03:13 AM
Tech Master

It will go on, but it takes pliers. If you sand off the flashing on the back of the tie rod, it won't hurt youre finger when you put it on. But the first time it takes pliers.
Old 08-01-2008, 03:36 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

as jrwoodchuck stated, use some pliers. The flat, wide-jawed ones works the best, as needle nose can slip off the ball end...

It should be a VERY tight *snap* when first time. Remember, these ball ends have to withstand quite a bit of stress without it popping off.

If you do notice the ball cups popping off, time to change to a new one. If you're at the track and during a race and can't get a hold of one, you can temporarily use a plastic bag and cover the ball end with it, then snap the the ball cup onto the ball end and rip/cut any excess bag around the ball end for a tight fit. But this method is a bandaid and should be used if you're truly out of the ball cups and can't get any more in your hand...
Old 08-01-2008, 05:15 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)