Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
New piston/sleeve. >

New piston/sleeve.

New piston/sleeve.

Old 11-23-2007, 11:08 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default New piston/sleeve.

Ok, this is my first time actually buying just the piston and sleeve for my AE .15 Engine, and in the little package it comes with the piston inside the sleeve, although it is really tight because, of course, it isn't broken in. I have to install a conrad in it, and i don't know if I need to take the piston out to put the conrad in, because I'm scared to push it out because of scratching either the piston or sleeve. Any suggestions??
Old 11-24-2007, 12:36 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Unless you can perform magic, you will have to take the piston out, from the bottom. Use a soft wood dowel or plastic stick like the end of a tooth brush, but it should not be jammed in that hard unless someone forced it in the sleeve. Make sure you don't damage the piston pin clip when you take it out and check your conrod to crank bushing for wear at TDC. Also make sure your bearings are good, or you will trash that new P/S set.
Old 11-24-2007, 08:15 AM
Tech Adept

Ok, thank you so much, I got it out, no problems. Now I need to know how I get the conrod off of the piston, it has that little bar in the middle. I need to get it off the old piston to put in the new one, how I do?
Old 11-25-2007, 03:48 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

Originally Posted by David Day
Ok, thank you so much, I got it out, no problems. Now I need to know how I get the conrod off of the piston, it has that little bar in the middle. I need to get it off the old piston to put in the new one, how I do?
In order to remove the conrod, you'll need a needle point tweezer to remove the G spot.. oppss.. sorry, I mean the G clip (little bar) be careful, because the clip might fly away that you might lost it.
Old 11-25-2007, 06:54 AM
Tech Adept