Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Electric engine overheats and desolders wires. Why? >

Electric engine overheats and desolders wires. Why?

Electric engine overheats and desolders wires. Why?

Old 10-17-2007, 10:08 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Electric engine overheats and desolders wires. Why?

Hey guys I am new to R/C cars and am having some trouble. I just bought a used car so Ill try to give all the info I can.

Car: Team Losi XXXT Graphite ( I think they call it the MF2 Racing Truck Kit)
Speed Control: LRP IPC Digital v7.1
Controller: Sanwa MX-3
Airtronics Super Micro 3ch receiver by Sanwa
Battery: Venom 7.2v 5000mAh NiMH
Engine: I am not sure because I dont have an allen key to take of the cover blocking it.

Anyway here is my problem. I bought the car. I used it like 2 times (2 charges). I used it another time. When driving it just stopped. I noticed one of the wires going to the engine came off. I soldered it back on. It happened again and I soldered it on. Then it did the same thing again, except the wires were still connected. I am not good at soldering so I figured maybe it was a bad connection and let me just bring it to a shop. They said that the brushes on the motor got stuck. Not sure if that is related at all and they just free'd them up. I also had them redo the soldering because mine wasn't so good. They did a great job so I figured I'd be fine.

I went to use it again today. Put in a full charge battery and it was running great. Then all of a sudden its acting like the battery is dead and going like half speed after 5 minutes. I thought maybe the battery wasnt full but it was. I went to drive the car back to me and then all of a sudden it picked up and had full speed again. Ok dont know why that happened but its was fine so I kept riding.