Community
Wiki Posts
Search

TC3 run times

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2007, 07:39 PM
Tech Initiate

TC3 run times

Im converting a TC3 into a Late Model dirt oval racer and owndering what kind of run times can I expect with a 10t and 19t motor with 4200mah NiCD or a Lipo? What would be the difference between the 2 motors and batteries? Can I run it with a higher voltage battery and what would be the advantage of that?

Sorry for all the questions but Im a newbie at Electric, I've been running Nitro for a couple years.

Thanks
Old 09-07-2007, 07:53 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)

A complete guesstimate, but I think 4200's with a 19-turn will get you into the 9-12 minute range, but a 10-turn would be in the 6-8 minute range. All depends on traction conditions. Better traction will cause higher amperage draw from the batteries on acceleration.

As for the TC3, I hope you have a solution for the TC3's steering rack. It is notorious for trapping small rocks, dirt, debris, etc. causing the steering to bind or lock.

FYI - 4200 batteries are NiMH, not NiCd.
Old 09-08-2007, 11:09 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by cycleeric
Im converting a TC3 into a Late Model dirt oval racer and owndering what kind of run times can I expect with a 10t and 19t motor with 4200mah NiCD or a Lipo? What would be the difference between the 2 motors and batteries? Can I run it with a higher voltage battery and what would be the advantage of that?

Sorry for all the questions but Im a newbie at Electric, I've been running Nitro for a couple years.

Thanks
After two or three hot laps before the Main, then a 5 minute Main, I have taken 4200 Nimihs, placed them on a bulb (30 amp) discharge string and timed them and had an average of 1 to 1 1/2 minutes charge left in them with a 10D motor. Now after running LiPo's the same way, I have recharged them and only put a max of 2400mah in them. Not very scientific, but just some ballpark information.