Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
[?] - Hexagon Thread.. Breaks... - OS Engine .12TZ 5 Port. >

[?] - Hexagon Thread.. Breaks... - OS Engine .12TZ 5 Port.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

[?] - Hexagon Thread.. Breaks... - OS Engine .12TZ 5 Port.

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2007, 11:48 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default [?] - Hexagon Thread.. Breaks... - OS Engine .12TZ 5 Port.

Hi Guys!

Im relatively new to the hobby (Nitro..)... just getng to know all the parts.. tweaks and all that..

I need to inspect my sleeve and inner stuff of my .12 os engine.. (done it a couple of times..) BUT now.. i really need to look at it.. Problem is.. the thread is broken..

I can take off 2 out of four hex screw but the remaining 2 is busted... Tried to use small pliers.. but i just cant rotate it! as i have really tightened it..

Is threre a tool to remove this.. or a technique?

I guess my last option is to saw the heat sink then use a wrench to take off the hex screws.. (but.. i just dont want to do this yet.. as the community.. might be able to share some tricks.. )

Tnx!
Old 04-01-2007, 12:05 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

mate stripping hexes is inevetable, all racers experience it. But the technique most use is turning the screw into a flathead srew.

by using a dremel (mini grinding most racers have) with the cutting attachement or simply a cutting tool (eg hack saw), cut a slit in the centre of the screw spanning across it. this will allow you to undo the screw with a flathead driver.

you will then need to buy new screws and i suggest invest in titanium ones(stronger).

safe cutting REMO
Old 04-01-2007, 12:07 AM
Tech Adept

ohh lol sorry just realized it was on the heatsink u were talking about.

lol my opinion your buggered.
Old 04-01-2007, 12:10 AM
Tech Addict

nothing you can do...cut off the cooling head and buy a replacement when you get the screws out.
Old 04-01-2007, 12:12 AM
Tech Fanatic