Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Nerdy Question On Exact Function Of Power Cap's? >

Nerdy Question On Exact Function Of Power Cap's?

Nerdy Question On Exact Function Of Power Cap's?

Old 01-12-2007, 11:34 AM
Tech Elite

Default Nerdy Question On Exact Function Of Power Cap's?

OK, so I know that the power cap is supposed to help the efficiency of speed controllers, what I want to know is how?

This is nerdy I know but I work in the Computer/electronics industry but a couple of us were trying to understand exactly how it effects the voltages etc.

i.e. Does it at like a power reserve to simply add a fractional voltage when the motor causes the voltage on the battery pack to drop?

Or possibly helps to turn the inductive load of the motor into a more 'resistive' load to reduce strain on the speedo, a bit like Power Factor Correction on computer PSU's?

Anyone with good electronics knowledge able to answer?

Thanks
Skiddins
Old 01-12-2007, 11:55 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I think we all want the true 100% fact on that. I'm under the impression it build's a surge to give more kick coming out of the turn's. And the way it keep's speed control's cooler is my wonder. If its compiling the negitive feedback to release a positive boost on throttle, once the boost is gone then I would be concerned that it would act as a regulater to the out put of the motor. Ok I'm crazy now, I can see a super tech coming and he'll probably drain us with a bunch of high tech intellect and I'll have 2 crossed eye's instead of 1.
My insinct would say bigger capacitor if the straight's are longer, And I would guess the bigger would'nt hurt in the short straight. It would probably be more efficiant to its worth. I sure hope they keep it leighman.
Old 01-12-2007, 12:18 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)