Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Viscous Differentials Versus Ball: Racing Information? >

Viscous Differentials Versus Ball: Racing Information?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2007, 08:40 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

This is in the context of 1/10th and smaller electric 4wd off-road Racing. My background is more electric racing and I missed/ignored most of this Nitro Truck craze the past 8 years. So Im trying to figure this out.

I know Viscous/Fluid Differentials are used in 1/8th scales and many basher trucks (even some 1/10th nitro pro sedans). I understand the principle that the fluid gives, but is there any reason Ball diffs aren't used? In that large a scale they fail? I know many Nitro people swear by them, but I keep wondering if thats because Nitro needs them versus being a inherently better technology. In which case, with todays brushless and insane powered brushed, why wouldn't Viscous used also? Or is it because a Nitro gains more torque with RPM while a electric looses.

Here is my ?misinformation?

Viscous:
-Extremely durable
-Can be adjusted with high weight oils and left for months.
-Oil gives tiny bit of dampening effect (alah Losi Hydra Drive)

Bads:
-Weight
-It would seem necessary to run a slipper clutch to help sustain the drivetrain in a electric 4wd since other than a dampening effect, it has no traction control? (Does the clutch and middle diff partially make up for this on 1/8th gas?)

Ball:
-Light
-Can be externally adjusted
-Allow tiny bit of slip under high strain conditions/punch

Bads:
-Rebuilding more often
-Backing off/break in
-No dampening effect on landings (but some very very suttle slipping).
Old 01-08-2007, 10:31 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)