Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Help! Nitro engine revs super high on startup! >

Help! Nitro engine revs super high on startup!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help! Nitro engine revs super high on startup!

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2006, 12:07 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Help! Nitro engine revs super high on startup!

I'm rather new to Nitro... Very new in terms of actually starting to get my feet wet, in fact.

I had purchased a Novarossi P5X to put in my 1/8 buggy. I opened it up to do a quick inspection, and everything seemed fine, so closed everything back up and carefully used some high-temp silicone around the neck of the carb and backplate to make sure it was well-sealed.

Anyway, I mount it into my buggy, and try to start it up. Virtually from the moment ignition was made, the engine goes into high-speed overdrive! Literally as though I was full on the throttle. I checked my throttle servo, and it was indeed at idle. The carb is set to roughly 1-1.5 mm open at idle, so I don't think that's the culprit.

If it helps any, I'm running Sidewinder 30%, and I haven't really played with the needle settings; I took the needles out to inspect the O-rings originally, but I was careful to take note of all the settings before doing so.

The only thing I can think of would be some sort of massive air-leak somewhere. Also, the P5X has only three screws holding the back-plate in place, as the head of one screw broke-off with the shaft lodged in the crank case. I didn't feel that would be a real issue though, as I don't believe that the backplate is put under enough physical stress to be a problem. That, and I was sure to make sure that it was well-sealed with high-temp silicone.

Might anyone have any ideas on this one?
Old 11-19-2006, 11:07 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)