Wiki Posts
Search

discharging

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2006, 02:04 AM
Tech Initiate

Default discharging

As the title says
Just wanted to ask why do you decharge your battarys wouldnt running your car tilll its dead do the same

Forgive ,e if its a stupid question but im new to electric cars
Old 11-07-2006, 02:30 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

first of all, its not called decharging, its called discharging.

each RC battery cell is 1.2v and most 6 cells packs r thus 7.2v. most people use a discharger or discharge tray and discharge to 5.4v which is equal to each battery cell being 0.9v. running the battery in the car til the batt goes dead isnt good since you can still drive and drain the battery below 5.4v which isnt good. basically drive the car until it gets fairly slow then u recharge it.
Old 11-07-2006, 02:48 AM
Tech Initiate

thanks mate
ive seen the bulb trays that are used is it poss it made somthing like thus instead of buying one or are they cheap to start with
Old 11-07-2006, 04:42 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

first of all are you racing or just bashing? if you race do you have SxS packs? SxS packs are where the cells are next to each other and held together by tabs made of silver which go from + to - to + to -, etc. they are made of 6 cells. or do you run packs which are long and have 6 cells but are in 2 columns of 3? like this:

IIIIII (SxS pack) or II (stick pack)
II
II

u can only use discharge trays on SxS packs. if you do use SxS packs a novak smart tray will be good for equalising ur packs and discharging them or if you race stick packs just get a car globe and put it onto the male type plug that you run in your car, such as a tamiya plug, and then plug it into the battery and when the light goes fairly dim the pack is discharged. or get a proper discharger. if racing SxS are better since there is less resistance meaning more power and voltage so that you go fast and longer.