Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Motor Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2006, 04:24 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Motor Help

I have a TA-04R chassie and I'm having hook up issues, I'm running a 14 double turn motor on it with a 120T spur gear to a 45T pinion gear, I have the feeling my setup is about to get laughed at, but I'll openly admit I'm a newbie when it comes to understanding these cars. But anyways I have some decent tires on it and I still have issues hooking up on carpet even being easy on the throttle.

Anyone have some less torquey set up advice?
Old 10-23-2006, 05:40 PM
Tech Addict

What tires are you running? Are you having trouble hooking up all 4 tires, or just the front or rear?
Old 10-23-2006, 08:43 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Right, please tell us a bit more about your car's setup, like exactly what tires it's using, the oil in your shocks, the springs on them, ride height, toe & camber angles, etc. That'll help us point you in the right direction....
Old 10-23-2006, 10:02 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

We all started out having problems, from reading and asking for help you become more experienced and then able to help others out.

No one will laugh at you regardless of your setup. I still run a TL01 when I have some spare time.
Old 10-23-2006, 10:26 PM
Tech Master

If you're running a motor with adjustable timing...Maybe you can increase your motor timing, if gives more RPM & less torque. You could also use softer motor springs,that also increases RPM and dscreases torque.

Other than that,the TA04-R is a chassis that is capable of taking very low turn mods and still handles well on carpet...Just need to learn more about chassis tuning. Come to RC Tech more often & read up some good RC mags like Xtreme RC .....
Old 10-24-2006, 09:23 AM
Tech Rookie