Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree1Likes

What is wrong with redcat?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2015, 10:47 PM
Tech Rookie

Default What is wrong with redcat?

I'm a complete noob in the hobby and before I bought my redcat I searched and searched everywhere on what rc to buy. I may be in a somewhat unique situation where I'm getting my whole family of 7 into the hobby where price was the most important thing to consider, but saying avoid redcat at all costs seems to be what from I've seen 75 percent of people say. Where a couple people in my situation (trying to get a hobby grade rc as cheap as possible) asked for advice on what to get for 150-200 were pretty much told to find used or sorry you are out of luck. I bought the blackout xte monster truck first. At 129 shipped and rtr minus 8 aa I couldn't see any other way I could afford to buy 7 rcs so everybody could have one. I was sick of buying toy junk rcs every year for Christmas. Ever since I was a kid I've always wanted a hobby grade rc but never thought I could afford it. I freaking love my redcats. I have bashed the heck out of them. I bought them for the 2 11 year old boys and being worried about how well the would last after all the hating on forums I tried them out to see if they were worth getting for everybody. I literally couldn't stop playing with them. I played with them so much that my girlfriend told me to keep one and she would take the other because they wouldn't pass for new anymore. Since then I've bought 2 more blackouts (1 brushed and 1 brushless so I could swap motors and esc's to make mine faster) and 2 volcanos for the 2 8 year old girls. I read that the volcanos have been around for a while and even though they cost ten dollars more each I thought they would be better for the girls since they are slower. I can tell the quality difference between the two. So trying to make a super long story not so long maybe check out their newer stuff. Being a total noob I admit I know nothing but maybe some