Wiki Posts
Search

Motor Temperatures

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2005, 06:09 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Motor Temperatures

Can running a Motor undergeared cause it to get hot. I'm running a Team Br00d Monster in my Xray Evo2 and it hits maximum speed before the halfway point of the main straight hence why I think it is undergeared.

However after a five minute race the motor is hot and hence I don't want to go up a pinion as the motor is only two race meets old. The track is quite technical and small.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Motor Temperatures-track.jpg  
Old 10-27-2005, 06:52 PM
4ou
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Im not an expert, but if it was mine, I would gear it a little higher so i was building speed instead of peaking halfway. I may be all wrong and just confuse you more, but i would think that would make it get hotter cause the motor is spinning its max for a longer period of time. I also wouldnt go to high where maybe it was lugging coming out of turns, that will make it hot too.
Just my 2 cents
Old 10-27-2005, 07:05 PM
Tech Master

Thats what I though about the motor spinning at the max rpm would cause the most temperature. However everything I have read says that a smaller pinion causes a lower temperature.
Old 10-27-2005, 07:06 PM
Tech Master

I also have the Australian Nationals coming up in one weeks time so I would like to get it sorted hopefully by then.
Old 10-27-2005, 07:43 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

How hot is it? In fahrenheit, please...

I have run motors that hit 230 degrees, and they were fine, but I don't recommend it.

The hottest a motor should ever get is around 150 degrees, any hotter and you risk cooking the magnets, not to mention the brushes.

Check your motor for any binding, then check your car for the same.
Old 10-27-2005, 07:44 PM
Suspended

Originally Posted by b3n