Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Good beginner buggy? >

Good beginner buggy?

Good beginner buggy?

Old 04-12-2015, 05:16 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Good beginner buggy?

I'm new to the RC stuff, but a local track does have a division for beginner electric 1/10 scale buggies, but I have no clue as to a starting point. Of course, I don't want to break the bank starting out, but I would appreciate suggestions for a quality beginner buggy that I can grow with. I'm in Broken Arrow, OK.
Thanks,
Ron
Old 04-12-2015, 06:54 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

If you are new to the hobby. I would go with any associated b4,B4.1,B4.2. I just picked up a used durango 210 great buggy! but it has alot of set up options...which can be overwhelming! The losi seems good after a few parts are upgraded. any of these can be found for under $200 in the for sale section of the forum or ebay.
Old 04-12-2015, 09:26 PM
Tech Apprentice

Rhall

It was suggested to me that I check with my local racetrack to see what buggy has the most support. Locally for me that was the Associated brand. I ended up purchasing a B5M with some of the less expensive electronics (Justock spec motor and ESC), $100 transmitter, and a decent steering servo.

Wasn't "cheap" but so far super durable, lots of help from local racers on setup, and can definitely grow with it over time.

Had I spent less on a RTR I would have ended up spending more in the long run to get my RTR up to par with the basic kit, upgrading the servo, and radio.
Old 04-12-2015, 11:52 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Jsapata
Rhall

It was suggested to me that I check with my local racetrack to see what buggy has the most support. Locally for me that was the Associated brand. I ended up purchasing a B5M with some of the less expensive electronics (Justock spec motor and ESC), $100 transmitter, and a decent steering servo.