Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need help choosing a cheap esc for toy-grade rc testing

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2013, 05:33 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Need help choosing a cheap esc for toy-grade rc testing

Hey guys, i've skimming through this forum for a while now and decided this is where i need to be
I'm pretty new to the whole hobby rc scene, but i've always really enjoyed rc vehicles and i've collected a few cheap toy-grades over the years.

I bought a torment couple months back but it's been boxed up because it was much bigger than i thought

I've decided to undertake the challenge of converting my toy-grades with hobby grade parts.

I've decided to use my ecx motor (dynamite 15T) and battery (7.2 ni-mh) for the build.

What i need is a compatible esc. I would go with copy from my ecx torment but the tazer is $35 kinda a bit much.

Well i did some browsing and found the following esc's but i don't know if they're any good. Can you guys help me with my choice from the following list or any other suggestions

Note: I can't post links yet, just copy the names as is and search them for details/specs.
  • Hobbypower High-V 320A Brushed ESC Speed Controller with Fan for On-road Car Truck Auto T
  • Jmt 7.2-16v High Voltage Version 320a Brushed ESC Tow Way with Brake for Rc Car Boat
  • Hobbypower VSC 320a Brushed Speed Controller ESC for 1/10 Car Truck Boat
Old 12-16-2013, 08:39 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Any of those should work fine - 320a is a lot more than any brushed 15t will ever draw. Only caveat is that if this project ever trends towards using lipo batteries, I do not believe any of those have the necessary lipo voltage cutoff for safe lipo usage.
Old 12-16-2013, 12:43 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

i do not believe any of those escs are really rated for that amp output.