Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to this...

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 07:53 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? New to this...

Hello guys ! ( sorry for my english, i'll do my best )

For my first RC car, i didn't want to put a lot of money on it. So i buyed a HSP 1/10 rc drift car. I take it on ebay ; [w]ww.ebay[DOT]com/itm/NEW-RADIO-REMOTE-CONTROL-RTR-1-10-2-4G-ELECTRIC-RC-DRIFT-CAR-/161082947205?pt=Radio_Control_Vehicles&hash=item25 814ab685

I just want to drift in the street with my friend, nothing more, nothing less.
My friend have a vaterra rc car with a 540 engine with a Nimh battery. And it takes like 2hour to charge his battery for like 15 minutes drifting. Which is ridiculous. I do some research and i find that LiPo battery is charging very fast and you can drive it a very long time. My question is, can i put LiPo battery with a brushed motor ? If not, can i change this motor for a brushless one ?
Which battery or motor will be compatible with it ?
I am new to RC so i don't know how to change motor and all this stuff.

Thanks a lot !!

Max
Old 08-20-2013, 12:08 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

I can't find much information about the ESC that's in your car. In general, LiPo has nothing to do with brushed/brushless, but it has everything to do with the ESC. You can definitely run a LiPo battery with a brushed motor if you have a LiPo-compatible ESC. So, you may ask, what makes an ESC LiPo compatible? Couple of things, but mainly having a LiPo voltage cut-off, so that the ESC doesn't let you fully drain the LiPo battery, and being able to handle LiPo voltages (7.4 volts for 2S, 11.1 for 3S).

So, step one for you is to figure out if your ESC can handle a LiPo. If it can, great, if not, you'll need a new ESC that can.