Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Charging LiPo batteries for the first time EVER. >

Charging LiPo batteries for the first time EVER.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Charging LiPo batteries for the first time EVER.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2013, 04:07 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Charging LiPo batteries for the first time EVER.

Hi Guys,

I am brand new to rc'ing as of today. My son found Axial and Losi rockcrawlers on Youtube last year and has convinced my to by 2 used trucks. I have no idea what I'm doing with rcs, but they are fun!

Anyway, I just bought a "Hitech X1 AC Plus Multi-Charger" and I need to charge up two different batteries (separately, not at the same time) my son's and my own.

My battery is a: Enrichpower EP 1300 mah, 11.1V, 25c

My son's battery is a: Gens Ace 5300 mah, 2s1p, 7.4v 30c (ace30-5300-0201B)

I have switched the charger into LiPo BALANCE mode to charge the batteries, it is set at 3.3 amps and 11.1 V (3S) to charge my "Enrichpower 1300" battery. My question is, how do I know when it is charged? Should the volts be at a certain level? Is it a timed charge that will shut of automatically?

How will I know when my son's Gens Ace 5300 is charged?

I don't want to have a fire in my house. Any information or tips would be appreciated!!!

Thanks,
Rod
Old 08-03-2013, 04:27 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

3.3 amps is way to much to charge that battery at. generally you want to charge at only 1c. the charger you bought will stop charging when the voltage hits 4.2 per cell. 4.2-1s 8.4-2s 12.6-3s etc. the 7.4 volts is nominal voltage. you always what to balance charge lipo batteries, if you can. its not necessary to do it all the time. but if you don't then the cells can get too out of alignment in terms of voltage, which is really bad for example a 2s that has one cell at 8.4 and one at 7.6 would be badddd.