Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How to clean grease off/out of differential and housing

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2013, 11:44 AM
Tech Initiate

Default How to clean grease off/out of differential and housing

I'm a noob trying to clean and rebuild/oil my RTR 1/8 Nitro Losi 810 buggy differentials. I opened up the front diff housing and there is a ton of nasty thick grease. I tried soap and water to get the grease off the plastic housing and no luck...I tried carb cleaner on the metal and it works ok but not great. I tried denatured alcohol on both but that doesn't work...

What is the proper/best way to clean this thick grease off. I'm thinking about getting some white spirits/mineral spirits and soaking in there and then brushing off with a toothbrush? Can I soak the plastic housing cases in mineral spirits? or will that damage the plastic?

I wish these came stock with silicone oil...

Thanks,

HW
Old 04-21-2013, 01:04 PM
Suspended

I have used 5w motor oil...but simple green or castrol super clean is the magic clean.. I would not use Mineral spirits on plastic.. unless u like melting parts ..also many many tool stores have parts cleaning solution that is SAFE for Plastic parts just look..
Old 04-21-2013, 03:30 PM
Tech Initiate

Tried Simple Green and it just couldn't cut the really thick, caked on grease.

Got some "safer" Klean-Strip Green Paint Thinner (milky-white kind) and that did the trick no problem. I tried to avoid plastic parts at first but ended up just soaking everything in it and scrubbing with a toothbrush. It melted my latex gloves but the composite diff housing was very resistant to this solvent and I don't notice any damage after using it (not to say the resin isn't compromised somehow though???).