Wiki Posts
Search

Brushless Motors and ESCs

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2013, 08:53 PM
Tech Regular

Default Brushless Motors and ESCs

Hi all.

I am new to the whole brushless thing. I have been looking around at some of the various setups out there, but damn are they expensive. Anyway, the cost is making me think of going used. However, I have noticed that there are often times motors for sale without the ESC and vice versa. Back in the old days, you just hooked your brushed motor up to the ESC and you were off. Now, with everything so tightly integrated, I am assuming that no longer applies. Is that true? If you buy an LRP ESC, do you need the LRP motor, or is it possible to mix and match between manufacturers? Can I stick a Tekin on a Novak or would that cause the universe to divide by 0? Any info would be great.
Old 04-18-2013, 09:48 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

Most brushless ESCs will work with most brushless motors, regardless of brand.
I say most because there are a few exceptions based on super high RPM (or perceived RPM to the ESC when dealing with 4 pole or 6 pole motors). The other thing to watch out for is to make sure the ESC you get can handle motors as powerful as you want to go.

For example, most companies have a cheap ESC that handles stock level stuff (17.5, 13.5), then a normal ESC that handles down into the 8.5 or 7.5 range, and then a pro version that handles the super low turn touring car motors and/or short course level amps.

Also important is to try and match up a sensored motor with a sensored ESC. Most will work sensorless if one is missing the sensor, but it'll work a lot more smoothly in a sensored setup (but generally be cheaper if neither are designed for sensored use).
Old 04-19-2013, 04:19 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Check out brushlesshobbies.com they have ESC for about $55. I have two of them and have not had any issues. You can also search this site for reviews and info on them.