Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie Lipo charger question

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 04:14 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Newbie Lipo charger question

Hi all,

I am new to the R/C scene. I wanted to go ahead and give thanks for any help!

I just bought a Traxxas Stampede XL-5 2wd brushed yesterday. Nice little ride!

I purchased this SPC LiPo battery: SPC Li-Po Power, Lithium Polymer (LiPo), Hard Case Battery Pack; 6500mAh , 50C, 2S, 7.4V

Now I need a charger. I have no idea what charger to use, as I am a rookie to LiPo. I know Traxxas said to stay with a 2S battery so I did.

I am trying to stay in the $50 range. I only need to charge 1 battery for now.

Thanks again!
Old 01-06-2013, 05:00 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

OK, there are lots of great threads on most forums (and several good web pages too) on LiPo care and charging. I suggest reading through some of those (or at least skimming one). LiPo can be very dangerous, but by following some basics is also very safe.

Some quick basics in case you don't go read:
1) 1C charge rates are always ok, generally considered the safest charge speed, and may increase the usable lifespan of your battery as compared to charging faster (many will argue the lifespan point, but it varies by battery and other care as well)
2) balance charging is a must, at least every few charges, but is recommended for every charge
3) don't leave a battery fully charged for any extended period of time, only charge it if you are going to use it (also don't leave it dead)
4) never try to over charge, or charge with the wrong kind of charging method selected

Now that we have that out of the way, here's some more detail to help you pick a good charger for you.