Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Rookie Question >

Rookie Question

Rookie Question

Old 01-02-2013, 11:17 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Rookie Question

So, I'm extremely new to hobby and i'm looking to get my first buggy/sct. I have $600 to spend on the vehicle. The RTRs make the most sense, however, a kit sounds exciting. I want to be able to upgrade when the time comes, so access to addons/mods is a must. Here are my questions. One, should i go RTR or Kit. second, Im good with following instruction, will i be able to build a kit? Third what should i get?!!
Old 01-03-2013, 06:00 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)

Do you jump into things head first or feet first? Head first, get a kit. Anyone good with instructions and patience can build a kit.

If you intend to race, check out a local track to see what most others are running. You'll get a lot more help if people are familiar with your car.

With your budget, I'd buy used from this board. There are tons on deals here. Figure out what type of car you want first though. Take it apart and rebuild it once you get it to understand the construction.
Old 01-03-2013, 11:12 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

I agree with shagino. Step 1 is always to go to the local track. Find out what class has the most people. Find out what brands all those people run and what the local hobby shop stocks. Buy that.