Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Newby with an older car, tamiya blazing star. >

Newby with an older car, tamiya blazing star.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newby with an older car, tamiya blazing star.

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2012, 02:28 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Newby with an older car, tamiya blazing star.

Hi guys and girls.

Just got given a Tamiya Blazing star. Same as the Manta Ray, and Dirt Thrasher.

It's it decent but rough condition.
The guy that put it together did it pretty bad, 1 front spring is on the rear, the rear is on the front, both front tires were pointing in different directions, wire is just jammed in.

So she needs some lovin.

I'm going to strip her, full clean, and reassemble...

BUT as usual, upgrades are needed! It's quick- ish... With the 'sport tuned' rs540. But it's just not enough..

Now, I'm pretty new to this world so go easy on me.

It's just a basher, something to keep me entertained and something for the dogs to chase.

So what upgrades should I put in it? Want to keep it cheap as possible.

I know I need a new ESC to replace the crap mechanical one. And a new motor obviously.
Can I keep the 27mghz radio with a modern esc?
Old 12-21-2012, 02:51 AM
Tech Initiate

I'm thinking something around the 11-12 turn mark?
Or will that be too powerful for it?
Old 12-21-2012, 04:00 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)

Being tamiya I assume it has metal bushings? That's the first thing to change. Put bearings in it. The 27 will work fine for what it sounds like you doing. I would go with something like a 15 to 19 turn with an appropriate esc to go with.
Old 12-21-2012, 04:14 AM
Suspended

I would leave the bushing.. just put a drop of Zmax on them as for motor theres a mess of 20T on the market u can buy cheap.. have fun had this way back when..
Old 12-21-2012, 09:27 AM
Bud
Tech Master

Originally Posted by hotrod87