R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2005, 10:55 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 61
Default Do you need a 3 channel radio for Nitro??

I was going to buy a Sportwerks Mayhem Pro ARR (just requires radio) as my first nitro vehicle (I have 2 electrics right now), and I was hoping to use my radio JR XR2i radio for it, but it is only a 2 channel radio, and I think that I need a 3 channel....is this right, or will I be ably to use a 2 channel??

Ryan_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 07:02 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: penampang.Sabah
Posts: 218
Default

not all nitro requiry 3 channel...

normaly the third channel is use for reserve...
and mostly only 1/8 monster truck need reverse..

for example..my 1/10 HPI NMT use 2 channel
but my 1/8 savage.25 use 3.

it all about how many servo do that car need..steering,card and sometime reverse
Vamsufer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 11:16 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Charles_Howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 525
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

2 channel will be fine..
Charles_Howarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 07:26 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sandyville, Ia
Posts: 24
Default

My Revo came with a 3 channel
I put a 3 channel in my Savage SS
The channels control the servo's You will need 1 channel for throttle and 1 channel for steering. If you want or need reverse then you will want a 3rd channel. I believe most rtr's come with a 3 channel.
Rockram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 11:57 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 187
Send a message via ICQ to Grasshopperr Send a message via AIM to Grasshopperr Send a message via Yahoo to Grasshopperr
Default

Most trucks need a three channel reciever. Cars only need one if you have an amb transponder but you can stiill getaway with a two channel reciever if you use a y conector
Grasshopperr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 01:04 AM   #6
Suspended
 
racingkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,201
Send a message via MSN to racingkd Send a message via Yahoo to racingkd
Default

No!!
racingkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 03:57 PM   #7
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,108
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Three channels are nice to have, because three channel radios are usually better quality, with better signals, and you can plug accessories into the third port, like voltage monitors or personal transponders.
Phatkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for 3 channel FM Radio Mooshu Beef R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 16 03-29-2008 10:59 PM
HSP 2 CHANNEL RADIO AND RX $10 speedemall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-21-2007 04:57 PM
LOTS OF BRAND NEW PARTS! NIB, 7 channel radio! 3 Gas motors, 2 4 channel radios! KrechKrawler R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-23-2006 11:56 AM
ASSOCIATED XP2 2 CHANNEL AM RADIO ALBERTO R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-03-2005 09:11 AM
Good radio:fm, any brand, no offer refused! needed radio(3 channel t to the maxx2 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 16 02-05-2005 11:20 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net