R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Old 04-12-2012, 10:26 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Sizes of Spur Gears

I have an ECX Torment 1/10 SCT, which came with 48 Pitch 87T Spur Gear. I want to go to a Spur Gear with a larger tooth count...I bought a Losi 48 Pitch, 90T Spur Gear after being advised that it was "very close" to correct size...and found that "very close" resulted in the diameter being just enough larger that I am unable to replace the gear cover.

Does the tooth count of a Spur Gear determine it's diameter? Would two 48 Pitch, 90T Spur Gears from two different manufacturers have the same diameter?

If the Tooth Count determines the diameter, does that mean the gear cover will limit the tooth count? I went up 3 teeth, kept Pitch the same, and it was too big for the cover.

I am brand new to all of this R/C stuff, so I am probably overlooking something really simple that others who've been doing this for awhile consider "common knowledge".

Thank you.
BandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:36 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

In order to maintain the same pitch, but have more teeth, the diameter must increase. Generally you'll want to replace the pinion instead of the spur gear if you're trying to adjust acceleration vs top speed/motor temp.
"We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit." -Aristotle
My wallet supports: NorCal Hobbies, Tekno, Kyosho, Tekin, Team Powers, HobbyWing, Spektrum, and several battery/tire/servo companies.
justpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpoet View Post