Wiki Posts
Search

Traxxas help

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2012, 08:01 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Traxxas help

I am COMPLETELY new to rc scene. Most of the remote control cars I've ever owned had a cord attached. For some crazy reason I have decided to build a sc truck from the ground up. I chose a slash because I've heard they can handle the abuse. I am really wanting to race but my job schedule is crazy so not going to be a full time racer. And from what I've read on here I did not pick a great truck for racing. With that being said... Since I am getting to put it together piece by piece I would like to pick out parts that will help when I am able to take it to my local off road track.

What I have so far is a traxxas raptor chassis with nerf bars shock towers bumpers, axles, steering, and a complete raptor transmission with slipper clutch. I have 2 different batteries with charger. That's it. Lol. So I need shocks, wheels/tires, all electronics, and whatever else that might come in handy.

I've talked to my local shop and they have been very helpful. I love the look of the stock tires but they told me they will not work very well for racing. Also the was told not to get the stock shocks. Was gonna get the traxxas big bore but I had some catch my eye but I haven't heard anything about them. They are the Venom all metal. Anyone know about these? Also motor and esc... Was going to get the brushless set up from traxxas just not sure.

So any and all help will be very very much appreciated!
Old 04-04-2012, 10:32 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)

id go with the sidewinder combo from castle creations it is better than the traxxas set up and you can custom set it to your liking via the castle link. id also eventually upgrade the stock arms and bumper to rpm parts they are stronger than stock and are guaranteed for life. id also go with s set of proline bead lock rims and either proline calibers or renegade tires