R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Old 03-29-2012, 06:16 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Send a message via Skype™ to caseman788
Default rustler xl 5 running slow

hello, im new to the RC world. as my first buy i got a rustler xl 5. i do like the hobby a lot so far. but i am having some problems.

the first week i had it out running it was going good speeds and running smoothly, now on week three it has slowed down quite a bit.

im running 19/86 (the stock) gearing.

everything else on the truck is stock as well.

motor is titan 12 t brushed.

batteries are fully charged.

some things i noticed though is if i go in reverse a little then go forward i can get to higher speeds (is that wierd?)
but still nowhere as fast as i was going when i first started running it.

to eliminate some answers.... i have cleaned out the motor. my gear mesh is good, batteries are charged and putting our proper voltage, i checked for binding anywhere.

the only thing i can think of is the motor is starting to go( i have read nothing but bad things about the titan 12t). but maybe its something else. any help or suggestion would be appreciated.

also i am not ready to upgrade to brushless, i dont have the money and i want to get a little more experiance before i do that, so any other suggestions would be great
caseman788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
Tech Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by caseman788 View Post
hello, im new to the RC world. as my first buy i got a rustler xl 5. i do like the hobby a lot so far. but i am having some problems.

the first week i had it out running it was going good speeds and running smoothly, now on week three it has slowed down quite a bit.

im running 19/86 (the stock) gearing.

everything else on the truck is stock as well.

motor is titan 12 t brushed.

batteries are fully charged.