Wiki Posts
Search

Second hand nitro motor tuning

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 08:56 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Second hand nitro motor tuning

Hi I have purchased a second hand thunder tiger 28 motor and I want to try to get into racing. I am not very good at tuning as my past has shown me. However this motor seems to run fairly well. I would like some advice on tuning to get the best out of it. I run 20% nitro fuel and I know that the motor was being used with 25% nitro fuel. So what do I need to do to tune for my fuel? I gave it a run and it started and ran fairly well but when in high revs it started to bog down very slightly. It never stalled. It will sit and idle fairly well and when I stop it by pinching fuel line, it revs very slightly higher then stops within a matter of seconds. Do I need to change anything?
All help appreciated
Old 01-28-2012, 09:26 PM
Tech Addict

Check out this guide to familiarize your self with the fundamentals. If your new to nitro, it will be a lot easier to assist you if you understand the advice we give you.
Old 01-28-2012, 09:52 PM
Tech Addict

Wow that may take a while to get my head around all that!!! But very good explanations!! I will be reading this over and over again, but can I ask what I described in first post, does it sound like any problems?
Old 01-28-2012, 10:02 PM
Tech Addict

By your explanation, it doesn't seem like it would be an issue. As long as you aren't running it too lean and your temps are good then you're motor should be fine.
Old 01-29-2012, 01:07 AM
Tech Addict

thank you for your help and your information provided. Unfortunately i do not spend enough time on nitro cars to get my head around it properly. It can be confusing sometimes. I am off to read and read!! haha
Old 01-29-2012, 07:01 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Just my .02,