Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newb - Startup Guide

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 04:38 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Newb - Startup Guide

Hello.. I am a total newb when it comes to R/C cars. I am looking to get started into this great hobby. I'm thinking of going into the On-road touring class. What is a great "starter" ? I would like something I build myself not an RTR(lol.. learned that abbreviation today). Also how do these things work? You purchase a kit and then but a body? What is the price range?

Thanks in advance.. Any tips would be wonderful. There should be a dictionary or an encyclopedia for all the abbreviations and models for these things..
Old 12-12-2011, 08:20 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)

Not a lot are offered in kit form any more. But I've owned a lot of the Associated (AE) brand touring cars (TC) and they offer the team versions in kit form. I'm not sure if anyone else does at this point. I didn't even see a TC on Losi's webpage. From there you would have to buy your electronics of choice, and start building. As for a price I would not have a clue, as I left TC's about 6-7 years ago.
Old 12-12-2011, 08:50 PM
Tech Adept

I think sakura zero S or tamiya TT01 are good for beginner
they are not premium priced kit
try hobbywing ezrun for ESC/motor combo and get a lower kv motor for lower speed
Old 12-12-2011, 09:32 PM
Tech Rookie

thanks for the reply.. keep the suggestions coming..
Old 12-13-2011, 12:22 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I agree a TT-01 is a good starter. As well a TA06 or TB-03. All Tamiyas. They all have 'R' versions but I would stick with the basic kits for now. These entry level cars will come with a body (usually a GT2 or GT3 style). But you could buy and mount any 190mm body from any manufacturer as well if you wish.

Whatever you go with I recommend you get it from your local hobby store. Not only will they help you out with setups they will also have spare parts on hand for the inevitable mishap.