Wiki Posts
Search

Soldering

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2011, 04:53 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default Soldering

I am still trying to get my Blitz SCT ready to take out to the track. I have been working on it trying to get it race ready! After practicing getting used to driving it, I stepped up and bout a motor/esc combo....I was all excited about getting installed and I sat down to do it then I saw the stuff about soldering......

I have no experience doing this at all...Is this something I need to learn or should I take it somewhere to have it done for me??/

Thanks
Old 10-19-2011, 05:26 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by hokie6260
I am still trying to get my Blitz SCT ready to take out to the track. I have been working on it trying to get it race ready! After practicing getting used to driving it, I stepped up and bout a motor/esc combo....I was all excited about getting installed and I sat down to do it then I saw the stuff about soldering......

I have no experience doing this at all...Is this something I need to learn or should I take it somewhere to have it done for me??/

Thanks
its always a good idea to learn how to solder practice on some wire first to get comfortable with using the iron..or better yet have some one show you how to do it but like hands on.....
Old 10-19-2011, 05:45 PM
Tech Regular

Seeing as it's your first time, I'd suggest having someone experienced do it. A poor solder joint adds resistance and is at a greater risk of breaking (leading to possible component damage) than a well done joint, and it looks like crap to be honest.

However, learning to solder your own components is an important skill if you are serious about racing, and starting with good equipment is the way to go. I'd suggest a TK 950 soldering station by Trakpower and some 63/37 rosin core solder to start. Also, check out this video. It's more geared to circuitry, but it applies to all forms of soldering.

+ YouTube Video