R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Batteries batteries batteries!!!

What is the largest battery my stock 3605 stampede can handle safly?
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:07 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
bigben1165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 3,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigben1165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATLINE XTR View Post
What is the largest battery my stock 3605 stampede can handle safly?
largest as in number of cells? or mah? are we talking lipos?
__________________
BigBen
HPI TEKNO VORZA, 2200kv, 6s maxamp, MMM, 4PKS, huge balls
bigben1165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:15 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
jamie.21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 58
Default

If your talking lipo, I would start with a 2 cell lipo, the mah is basically how long your run time should be.
jamie.21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:01 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
bigben1165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 3,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigben1165
Default

cell wise, traxxas single pack vehicles (stampede, bandit, etc) can run a max of 3S lipos unless you upgrade your electronics.
__________________
BigBen
HPI TEKNO VORZA, 2200kv, 6s maxamp, MMM, 4PKS, huge balls
bigben1165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:41 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I have the old version of the stampede will that still handle the lipid? And by largest I meant mah or most powerful. Iguess I could ha e said that sorry.
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:55 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
bigben1165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 3,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigben1165
Default

in that case you need to look at the specs for your speed control and your motor. they will tell you the biggest voltage that your stampede can handle. look at the traxxas website if you dont have the manual for the truck or components. let me know what you find.
__________________
BigBen
HPI TEKNO VORZA, 2200kv, 6s maxamp, MMM, 4PKS, huge balls
bigben1165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
T. Herwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset, PA
Posts: 2,373
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to T. Herwig
Default

The 3605 stampede uses an XL-5. The largest you can go is a 2S lipo, but be careful. There's no low voltage cutoff.
__________________
Tyler Herwig
Tekno RC teknorc.com ∙ JConcepts jconcepts.net ∙ Spider Hobbies spiderhobbies.com ∙ SMC smc-racing.net ∙ Upgrade RC upgrade-rc.com ∙ Kustom RC Graphics kustomrcgraphics.com
T. Herwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:44 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It says input voltage is 4 cells to 8 cells (4.8-9.6v). It also says motor limit 15 turn (540) 12 turn (550). Is that what you are asking about?
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:27 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATLINE XTR View Post
What is the largest battery my stock 3605 stampede can handle safly?
The battery power is only relevant in terms of voltage. The motor will draw only the current it needs. There is correlation of current and voltage, hence the more current your battery can store (in the case of NiMH) the higher the initial voltage of the battery.

A 5000mAh (5amp) 7.2 NiMH battery will at full charge be close to or slightly over 9V so you are within your specifications.

Also, the higher current batteries are slight fatter, so space may be an issue, but unlikely.
__________________
RC Cars: E4/G4/TCX/LAB-C02/T4'15/MM Engines
WEB: Beachmums Racing - MYRCM Race Registration
Media: Amain - RCRacingTV - RedRC - LiveRC - blisx264
blis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:33 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
bigben1165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 3,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigben1165
Default

yeah, sorry, i mispoke, you can only use a max of a 7 cell nicad or 2S lipo battery. traxxas does have a program where you can trade in your power system for some money off a new more powerful system. its a pretty good idea!! look into it!
__________________
BigBen
HPI TEKNO VORZA, 2200kv, 6s maxamp, MMM, 4PKS, huge balls
bigben1165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:29 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Awesome! That is exactly what I wanted to hear! Thanks everyone! I will definatly lookinto that.
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:33 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Now for novice racing do you think that I should upgrade to a brushless system or do you think that I will get my butt handed to me so bad that it wont be fun with the stock setup. But different gears.
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:46 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Sorry here's another question...are one of the no name hong kong batteries ok to use for now? And also will I lose any power in the traxxas high flow to whatever the white end is called? One more question is it ok to hook up 2 5000 mah to the truck or will that be too much?
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:57 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
T. Herwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset, PA
Posts: 2,373
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to T. Herwig
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATLINE XTR View Post
Sorry here's another question...are one of the no name hong kong batteries ok to use for now? And also will I lose any power in the traxxas high flow to whatever the white end is called? One more question is it ok to hook up 2 5000 mah to the truck or will that be too much?
www.hobbyking.com

The Stampede only has room for 1 5000mah pack.
__________________
Tyler Herwig
Tekno RC teknorc.com ∙ JConcepts jconcepts.net ∙ Spider Hobbies spiderhobbies.com ∙ SMC smc-racing.net ∙ Upgrade RC upgrade-rc.com ∙ Kustom RC Graphics kustomrcgraphics.com
T. Herwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:04 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
FLATLINE XTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It has room for like 3 or 4 of them but doesn't have the equipment for more than one. I have already built a stack plate for it so that it can hold 2 and air still get to them. Very top heavy though. I will have to go it to depth a little more on another design. But I am only going to waste the time if the factory equipment will handle 2 5000s or 4000s. Will that be too much for the motor and esc?
FLATLINE XTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batteries, Batteries, Batteries Hunter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-23-2008 10:12 AM
Batteries Batteries Batteries ldp787 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 01-30-2008 07:10 PM
Batteries, Batteries, Batteries M.J Electric On-Road 34 10-24-2005 09:45 AM
batteries batteries batteries mmatic Electric On-Road 23 10-08-2004 11:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:07 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net