R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Castle ESC cutout

I race an SC10 with the Sidewinder SCT combo and Lipo packs. Occasionally, if I land heavily after a large jump, I lose throttle completely for maybe 10 or so seconds. Steering is fine, it is just the motor. I suspect that something is causing the ESC to re-boot. My first thought was a loose connection, but I cannot see anything loose. Is it worth swapping out the receiver? Could something there be causing an issue?
cslewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:35 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

If yoiu've been tru the connections and are satisfied its not one of them causing the prob, try swapping the rcvr. If that doesn't fix it, then its time to call Castle, seems you might have a connection prob in the esc.

Just curious, but have you looked at the esc LEDs when the power's gone? There may be a clue in what the LEDs are saying.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 06:28 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the reply, trying a new receiver is my next step. The problem I have with looking at the LEDs is that by the time I get to the truck from across the track, the ESC has booted up again and throttle is restored.
cslewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 09:40 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

this happened to me last night at my local track and i instantly thought about your post. i also run a castle setup. i figured out why mine did it. i borrowed a battery from a friend while mine was charging. his was pretty beat and the bannana plugs that go into the lipo wern't tight anymore and any impact would cause one of them to lose connection and reset my esc. check that out on yours. (assuming you are running a lipo as well that it)
bobbydz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Robitronics Scalpel 1/18th Pan Car? oXYnary Micro and Mini Scales 1271 04-20-2016 09:10 AM
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC bkspeedo Electric On-Road 1512 12-24-2014 08:06 PM
HELICOPTERS R US Turtlemaster Northwest Racers 967 03-06-2008 01:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net