Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newb - Suggest an off road/on road RC

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2010, 07:18 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Newb - Suggest an off road/on road RC

I'm new to the RC world and would like to get something better than the "toy" grade RC car/truck. Not looking to race but would like to have the option to upgrade parts at some point.

I would like to spend no more than $250 but I could go up to $350 if it was worth the extra money.

Things I'm looking for:

On road / off road
Decent speeds - something that at least has a top end of 35 - 40mph
Something with good handling
Durable
Electric
RTR

Thanks in advance
Old 12-29-2010, 07:30 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

IMO on-road you will be limited to were you could run it were as off-road you can run it either. You can start out with a Traxxas Slash since the parts are readily available and truck is durable.
Old 12-29-2010, 07:37 PM
Tech Rookie

Ok thanks. Off road it is. Is the Slash something I will outgrow quickly?
Old 12-29-2010, 07:50 PM
Odd
Tech Apprentice

If you are wanting to run 4x4, the Slash is a good start, although I'd rather convert an RC8 4wd to an SC 10 4WD...

However, the SC10 is an excellent choice for a 2WD SC truck, the Losi seems pretty good too, though I have only watched it race, no hands on experiance.

Best thing to do is find out what people are racing in your area. No sense in buying into a class and not be able to run it because of lack of interest.
Old 12-29-2010, 08:04 PM
Tech Rookie

What would most people recommend 1/10 or 1/16 scale?

No plans to race. This is more of a backyard fun type of venture. If I go with a Slash I think I want the VXL version. Of course I can save some money with 1/16 scale but I don't want it to be too small.
Old 12-30-2010, 12:07 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Odd
If you are wanting to run 4x4, the Slash is a good start, although I'd rather convert an RC8 4wd to an SC 10 4WD...