Wiki Posts
Search

Tough Car Question.

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 08:57 PM
Tech Rookie

Post Tough Car Question.

Hi,

Long story short, I have a team of people who are re purposing an RC car to be used in a race. Not any race, an autonomous RC car race (Think DARPA challenge on a miniature scale).

Anyways, the mechanical team has bought a "Kyosho-Inferno-VE-4WD" (sorry no link). Good looking car for our purposes.

My background is Electrical Engineering and I'm supposed to be finding some batteries to put on this thing to make it go. Here's the important catch.
We'll be adding some considerable weight to the car, 2x 500g cameras, and probably another 600-800g of control electronics. Also, were looking to splice the electronics and cameras into this battery also. The Mechanical guys concern is that the stock battery won't be enough to lug all of that around (I agree). However what they propose is absurd IMHO.

These Mechanical Guys think they need a 29V, 4000mah power source to run this thing. I think that's a load and I'm hoping someone on here with much more expertise than I can suggest some batteries for this project. I'm open to different configurations, multi-battery setups. Anything you think I need.

tl;dr: 1/8th scale car needs batteries, we're adding ~1.5kg of stuff to it, also. What batteries do I get? Price is important, but so is weight.

Much appreciated!
Old 11-08-2010, 07:49 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

WoW !! first thing we need to know is what top speed are you looking for?second, how long do you need it to run?
third what motor do you plan to use?
fourth what voltage do the cameras and transmitters opperate at.

as for batteries LIPOs are going to be the best for capacity vs weight.

the cheapest place i know to get them is hobbyking.com
Old 11-08-2010, 09:37 PM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Sounds more or less like what I'm trying to do. (I got a much cheaper car and it's just me, not an entire team. )