Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Lipo Balancing - how close do they need to be >

Lipo Balancing - how close do they need to be

Lipo Balancing - how close do they need to be

Old 06-24-2010, 08:18 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 248 (100%+)
Default Lipo Balancing - how close do they need to be

I am a lipo newb. I just charged my first one using this charger. I selected the Balance Charge and it went on it's way however when it was done and I looked at the results it showed Cell 1 @ 4.9 and Cell 2 @ 4.11. The balance plug was plugged in and the charger detected the battery as a 2S which is what the battery was. The battery was a 35c 5000mah 2S Turnigy. Should this be a concern?
Old 06-24-2010, 09:54 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Definitely a major concern here.
If one cell is truly at 4.9V, then you could have a dangerous pack in your hands. 4.2V is maximum voltage for any lipo cell. I would check with a voltmeter first before condemning your pack as toast, sometimes the balance connectors have poor connections and can read funny. If you actually have 4.9V on one cell you should be very careful and do not use the pack again.

After typing this I figured maybe you meant to type 3.9, and 4.11, in which case this is reasonable. Next cycle balance charge at 0.2A, it will take a while, but should balance the pack perfectly.
Old 06-24-2010, 09:59 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

may he have meant 4.09???
Old 06-24-2010, 10:23 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

For his sake I hope so!
Old 06-25-2010, 04:03 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Thanks guys, I am pretty sure the charger said 4.09 and 4.11 sorry for the typo there. On a related note how do I check the voltage of each cell? Through the balance plug?
Old 06-25-2010, 04:54 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)