Community
Wiki Posts
Search

brake-in problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2010, 01:05 AM
Tech Rookie

Default brake-in problem

hi every one i'm new at this and i got my car in yesterday in the afternoon and i have a break-in problem with my buggy i got a Jammin x1x sport RTR 1/8th buggy and it will not stay running what so ever, every time i would prime my car if would start for about 2 seconds or so and it would just die it seems like there is no fuel getting into my engine for some reason, but every time i prime the engine it starts then dies down slowly like i was running out of batteries or something, i checked my glow plug starter and glow plug and it was glowing strong and bright, my batteries are all new, i checked my book and i made sure all the needles are factory set and tried it again but same results the only time it would start for a couple seconds is if i primed the engine, any idea on what i can do or any advice on what it could be and how to solve the problem??

please help

thank you
Old 02-05-2010, 08:41 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Assuming you are priming it and seeing fuel move up to the carb inlet, then there has to be a blockage at the carb inlet where the fuel should enter. It needs to be taken off and taken apart and inspected for trash.

The other thing - make sure there is not a leak in teh pressure line from muffler to tank. If the tank is not getting pressurized, it won't stay running either. A leak in this line will prevent priming from working too, so if you can prime it and see fuel moving, the lines are good. This also requires a good tank seal - I'd also check the tank lid.
Old 02-05-2010, 08:54 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

It can be a little tricky getting your first nitro to work right. Make double-extra sure that all of the carb settings are exactly as the manual says they should be to start with. If you mess with them at all, it's very easy to get to a spot where it won't run.