Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
How much practice before entering a race? >

How much practice before entering a race?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How much practice before entering a race?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 12:47 PM
Tech Rookie

Default How much practice before entering a race?

I am getting back into RC after racing a lot as a kid. I'm pretty new to everything and am merely curious how much practice I should have before going to an actual race. I have an 1/10 on-road car but am really new, I raced off road when I was younger and now everything has changed so much since then. Does anyone have any idea what class I should look to enter and what kind of setup I would need? Thanks in advance for any advice...
Old 07-30-2009, 12:52 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I say jump in because there is no better practice than the real thing.
Old 07-30-2009, 01:29 PM
Tech Elite

Most races will have a novice class. So, as long as you keep the car pointed in the right way, you couldn't have any trouble racing at your skill level.
Old 07-30-2009, 01:38 PM
Tech Adept

Practice until you can get around the track and feel relatively comfortable with the car (confident that you can steer around the track and steer out of the way of other cars). You'll learn fastest by just entering the race but it's not worth pissing off other drivers if you can't control your car. It's helpful to practice with a friend or other cars and practice following and being followed. Passing and being passed.

You won't win, that's not the point. Just get better and improve your lap times. Race against your self.
Old 07-30-2009, 02:18 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Giulitto