Community
Wiki Posts
Search

N00b here! Need help,please?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 09:35 PM
Tech Rookie

Default N00b here! Need help,please?

How are you guys doing? My name is Christian but I go by Gabriel. I pray all is well. I am new to this R/C bussiness, I just bought a Kyosho touring car from a guy on craigslist here in Orlando, Fl. Well it ran fine for about 5 to 8 min. And then it started acting up I thought it was because I accidently ran over a puddle of water so I turned it off and let it dry for a good 30 to 45 min. Btw its an electric car. After I waited for it to dry I turned it on and tried running it, it moved for about 20 seconds and it stopped. When I move the steering wheel the wheels move but when I hit the trigger to it acts as if it wants to move but it doesn't. My friend told me it might be that little orange box that connects in between the battery and the motor. Like I said I'm a noob so I don't know what its called. Lol. Can anyone help me out?

I know I wrote a lot so cliff notes

*CLIFF NOTES*
I'm a noob
Just bought an electric Kyosho car
Ran for about 8 min and then it stopped
Wheels turn when I move the controller but when I hit the gas it won't go anywhere any help would be greatly appreciated.

God Bless!!
Old 06-05-2009, 10:56 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)

its always a good thing to research on what youre buying into for one. second water and electronics dont mix, it was wrong to let it get near water. iy could be your receiver esc or motor. the motor could be cutting in and out from the effects of water, the esc can go touching water as well as the receiver. take the car to your local hobby shop and see what they can do for you. they can try using a new receiver on it and see if the issue continues, along with the esc or motor.
Old 06-06-2009, 04:19 AM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by not home