Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Complete newb

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2008, 01:28 PM
Tech Regular

Default Complete newb

Whats goin on guys, I am looking at getting into the RC world but don't really know what to look for. I used to have an electric tl-01 that i messed around drifting with and I think I got rid of it some time ago. I want to get into offroading (campus has some mean gaps!). I want to mainly jump, and do the whole open field deal. I know that means strong parts, and bigger money, but I can always work my way up. I need some ideas as far as what trucks to look at running. I'm thinking a T-maxx, or a Rustler, but what else it out in that price range? Are those my better choices, or should I be looking somewhere else? Thanks in advance. Oh, and btw, I don't have any LHS' so it would all be online through a forum contributor or the 4sale section on here...
Old 11-14-2008, 01:53 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I can help you make headlights - just pm me

but here's your sample shopping list for an rc dude such as you:

LXHDJ1 DuraTrax IntelliPeak ICE DC Competition Charger 129.99
LXULS4 SMC Racing 5000mAh 28C LiPo w/Traxxas A 159.99
LXSDB6** Traxxas Stampede VXL RTR 289.98

a warning about lipo batteries - they light on fire if you don't charge them with at the lipo setting and at the correct rate.
Old 11-14-2008, 02:06 PM
Tech Regular

I forgot to mention i believe that I am lookin for a nitro setup, if its something that can be bought online? (gas able to ship?) Also I would like something with a fairly large aftermarket following.

edit: i already have a brain959 charger i believe it is?? I had it a long time ago and its just sitting. Worth using still? I know they were fairly high end back when I bought it.
Old 11-14-2008, 02:15 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)