Search

LIE POOZ

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 07:15 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Red face LIE POOZ

Hey all,

Im sure its been answered somewhere on this forum, but i ran a search and couldnt pin-point anything.

I recently made the switch from nimh to lipos, i got two new ip3800 packs from trinity. There not really that main-stream in the us yet. Anyway, im new to lipo so i was wondering whats the point in the balancer? Do i have to use it everytime i charge, or does it only help balance the pack when your discharging? Also, i was told that lipos dont drain their voltage? I charged up a pack last night, around 11pm, and i checked it today around 8pm and the voltage was around 8.25, i have the team checkpoint tc1030, also i noticed theres no-repeak option? is it not possible to re-peak lipos or do i just re-charge them? when i did recharge them the voltage stopped at 8.50? seems low? I was also told that i should charge at whatever the pack rating is, ex 3800 charge at 3.8 however trinity said i could charge at up to 5amps? Just looking to get some real answers? and perhaps save my house from burning down.

thanks for the time,

tenpins77
Old 09-18-2008, 07:45 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

2 cell 4.8 v lipos btw
Old 09-18-2008, 08:41 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Lipo has both a max and min voltage. Charging with a lipo type charger uses a CC/CV charge sequence. The lipo is charged at constant current until the cell max voiltage of 4.2v is reached. then switches to constant voltage holding at 4.2v/cell (2S would show 8.4v) until batt has taken as much as its condition will allow.

Min voltage is considered 3.0v/cell but some say 2.7-2.8v/cell. Overdischarging below the min voltage can possibly led to a swollen or puffed cell which is a potentially dangerous situation - usually recommended a lipo with puffed cell be discarded.