how often should I chang my brushes?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

how often should I chang my brushes?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2008, 09:40 AM
Tech Initiate

Default how often should I chang my brushes?

Well I am not new to RC but I am new to electric. So how often should I change the brushes in the motor?
Old 04-14-2008, 10:24 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Depends on how serious you are about motor tuning, with my old MVPs I'd change the brushes whenever I cut the commutator, but I was getting a LOT of mileage between cuts. Yeah, truth be told a lot of those brushes I tossed could've been re-used, but to stay in the top of Stock Truck requires you to really keep on top of motor tuning, so why go through all the work of rebuilding a motor just to pass on a new $6 set of brushes?

What really makes a difference is the condition of the commutator. Once that's due for a cut on a comm lathe (ask your local hobby shop), you can decide if there's enough left of the brushes to make them worth cleaning up and re-installing. Typically when they get down around 75-66% of their original length, it's time for new ones.
Old 04-14-2008, 01:48 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)

Originally Posted by MRorange
Well I am not new to RC but I am new to electric. So how often should I change the brushes in the motor?
it all depends how often you brush your hair, but if you cut your hair short your brush should last you a very long time!!

oh you meant brushes for the motor?? Didnt know people still use those
Old 04-14-2008, 02:00 PM
Tech Initiate

Ha ha very funny. The problem is that I can't decide to go brushless and lipo or brushed and nimh. so do you have any sugestions?
Old 04-14-2008, 05:11 PM
Super Moderator

Ha ha very funny. The problem is that I can't decide to go brushless and lipo or brushed and nimh. so do you have any sugestions?
brushless and lipo will save you alot of money in the end and will give you more time on the track