Rookie Looking to Buy First RC Car!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Rookie Looking to Buy First RC Car!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2007, 10:26 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Rookie Looking to Buy First RC Car!

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the RC world and I am looking to be a good starting RC car. Something along the lines of HPI RTR. Money really isnt an issue, but I dont want to go too too crazy on my first car. Maybe something around $300-$400 at most. I'm unsure if I want to go Nitro or Electric. What are the pros and cons? Are most of the popular street cars 1:10? How do I know what bodies are interchangable with what model? Thanks for the help!
Old 01-22-2007, 04:22 PM
Tech Adept

For your electric vs. nitro question check this out: http://www.mattsrcstuff.com/nitroelectric.htm

Most street cars are 1/10, yes. But there is also the option of offroad (buggy, truggy, stadium truck, or truck)

You don't necesarly need RTR... building the car is half the fun.

Normally I would just go with the body that is meant for the car but you can try other things and see if the fit (or make them fit)
Old 01-23-2007, 02:09 AM
Tech Initiate

Depends what you want to do with it. I've started with $500 to start and in a few short months has increased to around $1500. Once you figure that out it's just a case of picking up something suited.... good luck
Old 01-23-2007, 06:17 AM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)

Originally Posted by donm3ga
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the RC world and I am looking to be a good starting RC car. Something along the lines of HPI RTR. Money really isnt an issue, but I dont want to go too too crazy on my first car. Maybe something around $300-$400 at most. I'm unsure if I want to go Nitro or Electric. What are the pros and cons? Are most of the popular street cars 1:10? How do I know what bodies are interchangable with what model? Thanks for the help!